Huobi annouces partial ban for UK and China-based traders

  • Huobi announces derivative trading ban for China and UK
  • The news follows tightening of restrictions seen in both countries
  • Spot trading will still be permitted as it is seen as less risky for retail traders

Huobi, the Chinese-founded crypto exchange that is the largest in China, has released a list of countries that will be prohibited from trading on the platform.

The list of totally banned countries includes the US, Canada, Hong Kong and Japan.

In addition, some countries are not totally banned but are now restricted from using any derivative trading products on the Huobi platform, including China and the UK, as well as Iraq, Bangladesh, Bolivia and Ecuador. In these countries, spot trading on Huobi will still be permitted.

Why ban derivative trading?

The news comes following a crackdown on cryptocurrency in China, as well as increasingly growing oversight on crypto exchanges from the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) in the UK.

The UK regulator recently banned Bybit and gave a stark warning to Binance in an effort to protect what they see as vulnerable retail investors trading with risky financial instruments, such as margin trading, CFDs (contracts for difference) and leveraged trading.

In a recent statement to Coindesk, before the specifics of the ban were reported, Huobi said that it was introducing the measures “To protect the interests of investors, [due to recent dynamic changes in the market], a portion of services such as futures contracts, ETP [exchange-traded products] or other leveraged investment products are temporarily unavailable to new users from a few specified countries and regions”.

Sign up for our FREE mailing list

Join 12,590 others now and get actionable research and analysis sent directly to your inbox.

Post a Comment


Delivered daily, straight to your inbox.